My appointment at Munich transplant hospital

April 10, 2014

The appointment was quite ok🙂
First they took blood and where very shocked about my mrsa multi-resistant hospital bug). Because of that I didn’t have to test my lung function or the heart. They just used the tests that were done in my case hospital, so it didn’t take very long.

Right after they took blood, the doctor asked me in his office. He noticed that I was breathing really hard, most probably because of the surgical mask that I had to wear because of that bug.
I told the doctor about my life, when I started to get worse and what exactly happened.

He was very shocked about all my broken vertebras, the infection in the spine that I had, the stroke and the stage of my osteoporosis. He said that all this were facts, that make the risk higher. But he also said that they hardly say no to patients my age, when they need organs. Especially cfers. He said that cf had the best successes and life expectancies after transplant.

But he also said, that my risk to die is much higher than for almost every other patient. That’s why he had to discuss my case with the other doctors involved (surgeon, anesthesiologist,…), he said. That discussion will be on Tuesday. By the end of next week they let me know if they will admit me for 3 weeks to get to know me better and do more tests.

I think my chances for that are quite good because of my young age.
And when I’m there, admitted in hospital, I got 3 weeks to convince them, that I’m a good candidate and that I deserve this chance for a second life with enough breath.

I want new Lungs so bad. I don’t care about the risk. I don’t care that I could die. If I die while/ after transplant, it’ll be at least be a quick process. If not, I’ll die slowly of suffocating, suffering for months and years. That’s even worse. I don’t care if a transplant could shorten my life if I die from it. For just the slightest chance for a normal life with enough breath, i would do anything.

Even If there’s a risk, that i die from it. I really hope that they’ll decide to give me that chance, that I wish to get so much.

3 Responses to “My appointment at Munich transplant hospital”

  1. stephethomas Says:

    Love you Dani! Praying for you, those doctors and new lungs. So glad you were able to find that hospital. xx

  2. cassam101 Says:

    I think your attitude makes you a great candidate. You have fought so long and so hard that if anyone can come through a transplant it is you. I so hope they give you a chance as that is all you ask of them just a chance. Good luck Dani.


  3. I too need new lungs, at least we have so many people who know how we feel, I’m just about to have my first lung transplant assessment🙂


Leave a Reply

